Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Read & Publish Agreements Negotiated by CAUL

The Geological Society

The Geological Society

The Geological Society's Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth Science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single site, the Lyell Collection is a unique resource for researchers and students alike.

Launched in 2007 to celebrate 200 years of the Geological Society of London, the Lyell Collection is an online collection comprising the Society’s journal titles, Special Publications and key book series - plus journals published on behalf of other societies. Cutting edge science sits alongside important historical material, all captured and presented to the highest electronic standards and benefiting from the extensive functionality of HighWire Press’ platform.


Participating institutions

The following institutions participate in this agreement:

  • CSIRO
  • Macquarie University
  • Monash University
  • University of Queensland
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of Tasmania
  • Victoria University of Wellington

Included titles

  • Journal of the Geological Society
  • Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology & Hydrogeology
  • Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis
  • Petroleum Geoscience
  • Proceedings of the Yorkshire Geological Society
  • Scottish Journal of Geology
  • The Geological Society Special Publications
  • GSL Books
  • Engineering Geology Special Publications
  • Memoirs series

Information for authors

Corresponding authors from institutions listed under 'Participating institutions' may publish immediately to open access on the publisher's platform once the article has been accepted, with no transactional APCs.

Author rights

Articles from authors at member institutions will be published under a CC-BY license, which allows maximum reuse while protecting the authors' rights of acknowledgment as authors.

How to submit your article for open access publishing

Submit your article via the following links to the publisher's submission system:

You will be recognised as being eligible for open access publishing with no transactional APCs via your institutional email address and your institution name.

Information on publishing workflows. 


Information for libraries

Licensing information

The agreement is per CAUL's Fast-Track to Open Access license. License templates and other information is available on ConsortialManager.

Reading

The agreement includes read access to 14 journal and book sites, including all current and archived journals plus key book series and historic collections. Perpetual access to subscribed years.

Publishing
  • The agreement provides open access publishing in the journals listed under 'Included titles' by corresponding authors of institutions listed under 'Participating institutions'. 
  • There is no limit on the number of articles that can be published under the agreement.
  • There are no transactional APCs or other service charges for papers submitted by corresponding authors from participating institutions.

Publishing alerts

No publishing alerts are provided.

Sharing via repositories

Green open access
  • Authors may post a copy of the accepted (i.e. post-peer review but pre-copyedited) version of their article, accompanied by a link to the relevant article abstract on the Lyell Collection, in their institutional repository, a subject-based repository or personal website after the relevant embargo period has passed.
  • The embargo period is 12 months from formal online publication on the Lyell Collection.
  • Under no circumstances may the publisher’s final version (e.g. PDF) be posted under the terms of green open access. 
  • There is no automated loading to institutional repositories.
Other repositories

Article metadata is also sent to:

  • Geobase
  • Geological Abstracts
  • GeoRef
  • Petroleum Abstracts
  • Scopus
  • Clarivates Web of Science
  • Mineralogical Abstracts
  • Cross Ref
  • Figshare
  • Library discovery services:
    • Summon
    • Primo (ProQuest)
    • EBSCO Discovery
  • WorldCat knowledge base (MARC records and KBART data).