Skip to Main Content

Read & Publish Agreements Negotiated by CAUL

CSIRO Publishing

CSIRO Publishing is Australia's leading science publisher of books, journals, and magazines. We demonstrate the value of science and capture and share knowledge for future generations.

Part of the research community our purpose is to enhance the impact of science by communicating the outcomes of research, empowering decision makers, and enriching the lives of our all our readers.

A transformative agreement in support of an open access (OA) publishing model. This agreement will accelerate progress towards open science.

Corresponding authors from your institution can publish articles as Open Access in a select number of journals.

Agreements can be multi-year agreements.

Further information on this agreement is available from CSIRO Publishing.

Key facts

This page was last updated on 12 February 2024.

Participating institutions

The following institutions participate in this agreement:

  • AgResearch Ltd
  • Auckland University of Technology
  • Australian National University
  • Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation
  • Bond University
  • Charles Darwin University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • CQUniversity
  • Curtin University
  • Deakin University
  • Department of Agriculture and Fisheries QLD
  • Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure NSW
  • Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development WA
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Federation University Australia
  • Flinders University
  • Griffith University
  • James Cook University
  • La Trobe University
  • Landcare Research
  • Lincoln University
  • Macquarie University
  • Massey University
  • Monash University
  • Murdoch University
  • National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
  • Plant and Food Research
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • RMIT University
  • Southern Cross University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • University of Adelaide
  • University of Auckland
  • University of Canberra
  • University of Canterbury
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of New England
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of Notre Dame Australia
  • University of Otago
  • University of Queensland
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Tasmania
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • University of the Sunshine Coast
  • University of Waikato
  • University of Western Australia
  • University of Wollongong
  • Victoria University of Wellington
  • Western Sydney University

Authors who do not see their institution listed above should contact library staff to enquire further.

CAUL is aware that the CSIRO and University of New South Wales have direct agreements with CSIRO Publishing. Authors at these institutions should consult locally to determine their eligibility to publish open access.

Agreement details

This agreement allows authors from participating institutions to publish in some of CSIRO Publishing's hybrid and gold journals without the need for any transactional open access article processing charge (APC).

This is an uncapped agreement. There is no limit on the number of articles that can be published OA under this agreement.

Article eligibility

Articles accepted from 1/1/2024 are eligible to be published open access under this agreement.

Article types

The following article types are eligible for open access under this agreement:

  • Article
  • Article; Early Access
  • Review
  • Review; Early Access

Article types excluded from this agreement include, but are not limited to:

  • Editorial
  • Foreward
  • Letter to the Editor
  • Comment/Response
  • Book Review
  • Corrigendum
  • Letter

Author eligibility

As defined by the publisher, the eligible author is:

Corresponding/ Main Author

Responsible corresponding authors must include a participating institution as one of their affiliations to benefit from this agreement. 

Authors will be identified as eligible for open access publishing by their:

  • institutional affiliation
  • email address

Responsible corresponding authors must use their institutional email address when submitting an article for publication

Responsible corresponding authors should not use personal email addresses (e.g. Hotmail, Gmail). Doing so may result in delayed approval of the article or the article may not be approved to be published open access under the terms of the agreement. 

Discount schemes

No other APC discounts are offered under this agreement.

Title list

The agreement allows for publishing in some journals. The complete title list is available online. If you wish to publish open access, please check to ensure that your desired journal is included.

Hybrid journals that 'flip' to OA during the course of this agreement will remain available for OA publishing for the duration of the agreement.

Author rights

Articles from authors at participating institutions may be published under the following Creative Commons licenses:

  • CC BY
  • CC BY-NC

Authors retain all rights as per the CC license.

Further information about licenses is available on the publisher's website.

The Creative Commons licenses allow reuse (some with conditions) while protecting the authors' rights of acknowledgment as authors. 

Article approvals

Article approvals are managed by institutions via a Rightslink.

Other charges

CSIRO Publishing does not charge additional fees for page and/or colour fees. Authors should always check each journal’s submission guidelines to ensure that they will not be subject to any other fees or charges.

Open access workflow

How to submit your article for open access publishing

The following instructions for authors have been provided by the publisher. Further details are available on the publisher’s website.

*Articles are submitted and accepted in scholar one.
*Flows through to CCC Rightslink system for Author Ring gold ID 
 and email domain matching.
*Author selects licence type and accepts institutional funding for Open Access.

Example screenshot(s):

Contact details

CSIRO Publishing

Please email for questions regarding this agreement. Please include your full name, institution, article title, journal name and DOI (if available), and state the reason for your enquiry.


Please email for questions regarding this agreement. Please include your full name, institution, article title, journal name and DOI (if available), and state the reason for your enquiry.