Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Read & Publish Agreements Negotiated by CAUL

Cambridge University Press

This is agreement commenced in January 2022.

Cambridge University Press currently publishes more than 400 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine.

The agreement allows authors from participating institutions to publish into the majority Cambridge University Press journals without the need of any transactional article processing charge or payment (APC). Further information on this agreement is available from Cambridge University Press.


Participating institutions

  • AgResearch Ltd
  • Auckland University of Technology
  • Australian Catholic University
  • Bond University
  • Charles Darwin University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Commonwealth Scientific & Industrial Research Organisation
  • CQUniversity
  • Curtin University
  • Deakin University
  • Department of Agriculture & Fisheries QLD
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Federation University Australia
  • Flinders University
  • Griffith University
  • James Cook University
  • La Trobe University
  • Lincoln University
  • Macquarie University
  • Massey University
  • Monash University
  • National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research
  • Plant & Food Research
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • RMIT University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • University of Auckland
  • University of Canterbury
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of New England
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of Notre Dame Australia
  • University of Otago
  • University of Queensland
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Tasmania
  • University of Waikato
  • University of Western Australia
  • Victoria University
  • Victoria University of Wellington

Authors who do not see their institution listed above should contact library staff to enquire further.


Inclusions

Included titles

The agreement allows for publishing in 388 titles. Titles include:

  • High impact titles such as Acta Numerica, British Journal of Psychiatry, and Political Analysis
  • Titles with high Australian and New Zealand authorship including the Journal of Fluid MechanicsPublic Health Nutrition, and Proceedings of the International Astronomical Union, amongst many others.

View the full title list

The agreement includes the following journals from Australian and New Zealand Societies:

Journal Society
ANZIAM Journal The Australian Mathematical Society
Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society The Australian Mathematical Society
Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society The Australian Mathematical Society
Journal of Psychologists and Counsellors in Schools The Australian Psychologists and Counsellors in Schools
Behaviour Change Australian Association for Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy (AACBT)
Brain Impairment Australasian Society for the Study of Brain Impairment (ASSBI)
Twin Research and Human Genetics International Society for Twin Studies (ISTS) and the Human Genetics Society of Australia
Australian Journal of Environmental Education Australian Association for Environmental Education
Publications of the Astronomical Society of Australia Astronomical Society of Australia
Journal of Management & Organization Australian and New Zealand Academy of Management
Antichthon The Australasian Society for Classical Studies
Australasian Journal of Special and Inclusive Education The Australian Association of Special Education Inc.

Eligible articles

Article types

Open access publishing covered under this Read & Publish agreement includes the following article types:

  • Research articles
  • Review articles
  • Rapid communications
  • Brief reports
  • Case reports.

Article types excluded from this agreement include

  • Abstracts
  • Addendums
  • Article commentary
  • Book reviews
  • Books received
  • Calendars
  • Collections
  • Commentaries
  • Contents
  • Corrections
  • Corrigendum
  • Discussions
  • Editorials
  • Errata
  • In brief
  • Introductions
  • Letters
  • Meeting reports
  • News
  • Obituaries
  • Orations
  • Product reviews
  • Replies
  • Retractions.  

Authors who wish to make excluded article types openly available may choose to:

  • Publish “closed access” and deposit the Author’s Accepted Manuscript in their institutional repository – view the publisher’s Green Open Access Policy for Journals for information on embargoes.
  • Pay an APC (if applicable) to publish the article open access.
Acceptance date

Eligible articles that have an acceptance date during the term of this agreement (2022) are eligible to be published open access under the terms of the R&P agreement. In the case of journals departing the Cambridge Collection, the accepted article must be published by CUP (ie before the journal moves to another publisher) in order to be eligible under this agreement.

Number of included articles

There is no limit on the number of articles by participating institutions allowed to be published as part of this agreement.

Other charges

Page and colour charges are not included in the R&P agreement, and only apply to print journals. Journals that have page charges (for print) are:

  • Radiocarbon (RDC)
  • Weed Technology (WET)
  • Invasive Plant Science and Management (INP)
  • Weed Science (WSC).

Information for authors

Corresponding authors from institutions listed under 'Participating institutions' may publish immediately to open access on the publisher's platform once the article has been accepted, with no transactional APCs.

Author rights

Articles from authors at participating institutions may be published under the author's choice of the following licences:

  • CC-BY
  • CC-BY-SA
  • CC-BY-ND
  • CC-BY-NC
  • CC-BY-NC-SA
  • CC-BY-NC-ND.

Further information about the licences is available on the publisher's website.

The Creative Commons licenses allow reuse (some with conditions) while protecting the authors' rights of acknowledgment as authors. Authors retain copyright.

How to submit your article for open access publishing

  1. Follow CUP’s usual article submission process via the journal’s homepage on Cambridge Core.
  2. On acceptance of the article, CUP will ask the corresponding author to complete a form (publishing agreement).
  3. The corresponding author selects Gold Open Access and confirms the licence type (i.e. CC-BY).
  4. Rightslink works on the publisher's behalf to manage the APCs. When the  submitting author is from an eligible CAUL institution, the APC will be automatically waived.

Also see the Step by Step Guide to Publishing OA in Cambridge Journals.

Author identification

In all correspondence with the publisher and Rightslink, authors must use their:

  • Institutional postal address
  • Institutional email address
  • ORCID.

Information for libraries

License information

The license is available for download from ConsortiaManager. Library staff should contact the designated Content Coordinator at their institution regarding any license enquiries.

Reading

Read access to the collection/package subscribed to in 2021 will be maintained in 2022:

  • Institutions that subscribed to the Full Collection in 2021 will maintain read access to the Full Collection in 2022.
  • Institutions that subscribed to the STM Collection in 2021 will maintain read access to STM Collection in 2022.

Publishing

  • The agreement provides open access publishing in the journals listed under 'Included titles' by corresponding authors of institutions listed under 'Participating institutions'. 
  • There is no limit on the number of articles that can be published under the agreement.
  • There are no transactional APCs or other service charges for papers submitted by corresponding authors from participating institutions.
  • Preprints or submitted manuscripts under review (SMUR) can be archived at any time. Author accepted manuscripts can be archived to institutional repositories at any time. For further information, view the Green Open Access Policy for Journals.
  • Article metadata is also sent to several other repositories. For details view the "About the Journal" pages for each journal on the publisher's website.

Publishing alerts

The publisher provides publishing reports with article-level information quarterly.