LibGuides: FAIR and Open NTRO Framework: Production

Introduction

Production

Research lifecycle stages: Create and Output

The Create and Output phases include some key issues around the creation and generation of research outputs by researchers as well as issues associated with managing a research output.

Focus areas:

Focus areas are presented under maturity levels (described below) within categories of 'aims', 'advocacy/enablement', and 'tiered services'. The Framework's advice for focus areas is presented in maturity brackets, but the advice within each maturity-level bracket is not necessarily interdependent, e.g. the 'tiered services' for an advanced-level bracket will sometimes not be a reflection of that bracket's 'aims', and instead be a very mature service stemming from an introductory-level 'aim'.

Production Maturity Levels

Maturity levels:

Introductory support includes advice for creating/gathering/generating data and sources that support NTROs in their existing guides and classes on authorship and research practice; this advice includes pathways to open collaboration and open publication. Cultural sensitivities are acknowledged in research integrity and ethics. Necessary administrative workflows and supporting materials are described publicly and/or made available to researchers. In order to assist with subsequent archiving, preservation, and discovery, advice is made available specific to NTRO formats at the time of NTRO production.

Resources - Guides are available for authorship that include mentions of copyright, traditional knowledge, research output formats, open access publishing, and the submission methods for the institutional repository.
Services - The copyright officer, institutional repository, library research support, and research office consultation services are knowledgeable in what NTROs are, how they are handled/acknowledged by the university, and considerations for making them open access.
Specialist Staff / Committee - The Copyright Officer and institutional repository librarians can respond to queries for the creation, publication, and open licensing of NTROs by researchers.
Policy / Procedure - The Authorship, Research/er Code of Conduct, and any mentions of research integrity/privacy/sensitivity acknowledge NTROs and traditional research outputs as separate types of output. The university encourages open access for all research outputs.

An intermediate level institution has standalone self-help and guidance materials on NTRO creation, formatting, and authorship. Librarians, Research Support roles, and the Copyright Officer provide services to review and/or consult on NTROs prior to submission for publication. Advice is available for dealing with third party sources/materials, cultural content, and Traditional Knowledge. Policies and Procedures provide guidance for NTROs as separate from traditional research outputs in agreements and collaboration arrangements for projects.

Resources - Guides for self-archiving, research conduct, data gathering/generation provide advice to researchers that is distinct from that for traditional research outputs. Standalone guides and self-help materials give detailed information on how the university handles review, acceptance, and publication of NTROs (particularly creative works). Open access is encouraged and the pathways to open are described in guides.
Services - Copyright Officers, Research Support Librarians, and Research Office professionals provide consultations that cater specifically to NTRO creators and their research practice.
Specialist Staff / Committee - Copyright Officers, Research Support Librarians, and Research Office professionals develop and own the management of cultural clearance protocols; considerations for levels of openness are covered in the protocols.
Policy / Procedure - Policies and Procedures for cultural clearance, Traditional Knowledge acquisition and publication, and the Creative Works Review process are documented. Custodianship and management of open and/or mediated access are covered in the documentation.

Advanced level support provides services and materials through dedicated roles and/or service streams for research support, institutional repositories, copyright, legal, and ethics. Advice for NTROs relating to sharing, collaboration, cultural sensitivity, and engaging with Traditional Knowledge is connected to experts or supported by review from a university committee. Pathways to open access are understood and advice is available that is tailored to specific formats and project types connected to NTROS. Protocols for engaging Traditional Knowledge custodians are formalised. Templates for agreements and collaborative arrangements are documented and cleared by legal departments. University research administration systems are integrated with external platforms deemed ‘fit-for-purpose’ in their use by researchers for NTROs.

Resources - Guides and self-help materials are made specific to NTRO sub-types.
Services - Services specific to NTRO sub-types are available to request.
Specialist Staff / Committee - Copyright Officers, Research Support Librarians, and Research Office professionals are supported in their consultations for NTROs by a Research Practice Committee or an enshrined agenda item for the University Research Committee. Research systems integrations to external specialist platforms are maintained by University business owners.
Policy / Procedure - Policies and Procedures for cultural clearance, Traditional Knowledge acquisition and publication, the Creative Works Review process, and recommended formats for NTROs are updated in alignment with international standards and/or advice from national expert organisations (e.g. AIATSIS). Policies and procedures supporting all research outputs include format specific advice for all NTROs and TROs that assists in encouraging and facilitating Open Access..

Indigenous Knowledge

Indigenous Knowledge:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Raise awareness of Indigenous knowledge issues and research activity.	Review library policies (such as RDM, Open Access, Authorship, etc.) and guidelines for coverage of Indigenous knowledge. Engage Ethics and Indigenous knowledge specialists or departments/organisations to formalise review of Indigenous knowledge NTROs.	Self service: Referencing guides include information on acknowledgement and recognition of individual and collective Indigenous contribution to and ownership over relevant research.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Appropriate culturally sensitive/controlled access to NTROs. Establish or elevate governance for Indigenous knowledge research outputs. Detailed custodianship plans.	Establish an advisory group or assign institutional experts with specialist assistance role.	Research support: Sessions on Indigenous knowledge in research outputs and identifying Indigenous knowledge in source materials. Ideally co-/created and co-/delivered with Indigenous knowledge experts. Specialist assistance: Connecting researchers to advice on cultural clearance procedures approving the use of sources for data collection and/or cited 3rd party materials. Specialist assistance: Refer researchers to advisory group or institutional experts on the research conduct and engagement with Indigenous communities.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
	Development of library/institutional cultural clearance protocols/procedures supporting mediated access requests to research outputs.

Authorship and Collaborative Research

Authorship and Collaborative Research:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Support correct author attribution.		Self service: Guides refer to issues of collaboration and co-design of NTROs. Self service: Refer to institutional policy and guidelines on authorship.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Documented ownership and responsibility for preservation.		Research support: Assist with co-authorship arrangements with engaged groups including Indigenous communities.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
	Engage other areas of the university - eg. legal, information policy - on template agreements and consult/support services.

Workflow

Workflow:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Improve submission, discipline assessment, and publication workflows within the institution and reduce administrative burden for researchers.	Provide agreed, institution-specific, descriptive elements or supporting materials required to validate NTROs as research outputs (research statement) as appropriate.	Self service: Option to specify Open and FAIR, identify Indigenous knowledge, submit research statements at submission stage, and apply DOIs.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
	Work with research office to develop workflows that simplify processes for researcher eg. upload, research excellence evaluations (previously ERA), research statement, copyright checking, harvesting, access conditions, preservation.	Research Support: Provide training to support understanding of workflows and requirements.

Submitting to Repository

Submitting to Repository:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Facilitate FAIR and Open for NTROs. Raise awareness of Repository purposes and functions.	Provide inclusive field names in the Repository, eg creator rather than author, description rather than abstract, commissioning body as well as publisher. Provide research types reflecting different kinds of NTROs rather than just designating “other”.	Self service: Information on website about how Repository supports NTROs: visibility in the university, academic audience and beyond (eg public), dissemination, managing access, preservation, rights, licensing, impact.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Identifying Indigenous knowledge when submitting. Enhancing institutional visibility on the NTROs being produced within the university.	Defining approved external or third party platforms that are fit for purpose, eg, Australian Data Archive, Dryad, Figshare.com, Zenodo.	Self service: Repository FAQs on what is needed from the researcher regarding indigenous knowledge when submitting to Repository, including appropriate metadata and TK knowledge labels. Research Support: Education about repository holding of NTROs - curation and management, funder requirements, academic recognition, metadata, indexing and preservation. Research support: Advice and assistance on preparing and submitting to a repository for non-digital research outputs. Specialist support: Active support and promotion to enable showcasing of work of HDRs.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
	Broadening the categorisation of research output types and associated submission information to include diversity of NTRO types.

Software and Code

Software and Code:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Ensure characteristics of software and code are captured. Recognise the importance of publishing software and code.		Self service: Online guidance for capturing software and code specific metadata. Research Support: Education around the importance of publishing software and code.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Facilitate FAIR and Open for software and code.		Self service: Guidance around appropriate repository eg create a copy outside of GitHub. Research Support: Education around software and code in repositories.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
	Facilitate integration between institutional repository and public code repositories (eg GitHub).	Self service: Guidance around setting up link between institutional repository and code repository.

Repository Collection Policy

Repository Collection Policy:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Make clear the inclusion of NTROs within the repository.		Self service: Provision of publicly accessible collection statement for the institutional repository - include NTROs, FAIR, CARE and Open.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
	Develop collection policies for internal library repositories that include NTRO types, connect them with FAIR and Open, and make clear what goes in which repository.

Metadata

Metadata:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Describe works for discoverability.	Review metadata schema for NTROs including options for cultural context, style, dimensions, techniques, inscriptions, conservation treatment etc.	Self service: Information on describing NTROs, metadata etc as part of repository submission process.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
	Application of standard vocab to support discoverability.	Specialist assistance: Library supporting with description, adequate metadata for later re-use, licensing selection. Specialist assistance: Assistance and guidance in application of labelling for Indigenous knowledge components.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Supports evidence of impact.	Repository incorporates information related to reviews, prizes, exhibitions and other evidence of impact associated with NTROs.

Ephemeral Works

Ephemeral Works:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Capturing digital versions.	Provide service definition for digitisation support.	Specialist assistance: Assist with the digitisation of works that are not born digital.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Digitising of materials to facilitate FAIR.	Priority list developed for this activity (preservation, value, for institution). Libraries engage researchers and institutions about the cost of digitisation. Consider what library resources are available for the digitisation of NTROs.

Multiple Items, Components, Iterations, Versions

Multiple Items, Components, Iterations, Versions:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Supporting management of NTROs.	Requirements for repository development include management of portfolios. Identification of clear steps on version control for NTROs	Self Service: Advice and guidance includes ‘version’ control.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
		Specialist assistance: Advice and assistance in connections between different components and items, including the management of DOIs.

Text and Images, Output Types, Formats

Text and Images, Output Types, Formats:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Supporting good presentation of NTROs.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Avoid fractured systems. Ensuring long-term access and preservation to open outputs	Requirements for repository development include managing portfolios, embedding video, contextualising images, include attribution, tabs for research narratives.	Specialist assistance: Advice and assistance in presentation of different output types.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
	Building preservation options (possible other section).

Research Statements

Research Statements:

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
Support academics in the identification of the research component of NTROs and their impact.	Capture information on the research component in a summary field (not necessarily publicly displayed).	Self-service: Online guidance on writing research statements.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
	Repository displays research statements if available and if appropriate. Work with academic skills areas in support of writing research statements.	Research support: Work with Academic Skills areas to provide sessions in writing research statements. Specialist assistance: Advice or referral to expert areas in writing research statements.

Aims	Advocacy/enablement	Tiered service
		Research support: Sessions for HDRs that assist in identifying research component of NTROs.

More information

Resources

Resources and examples

Indigenous knowledge - protocols

University of Sydney Library - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural protocols University of Sydney Cultural Protocols Link

Research statements

James Cook Library Publishing Academic Research

https://libguides.jcu.edu.au/publishing/ntros

RMIT University Library Creative and Practice Based Research guide - writing NTRO statements https://rmit.libguides.com/creativepracticeresearch/publishing

Copyright guidance

University of Newcaslte NTRO Copyright Link

Submission guidelines

Exemplar Charles Sturt University Library: CRO: Adding creative works

UQ eSpace - Manage your research outputs and datasets UQ eSpace NTRO Guide Link

Collection statement

Griffith University Library Repositories Collection statement Repositories Collection Statement Link

Research output reporting

University of the Southern Cross https://libguides.usc.edu.au/HERDC-ERA/NTRO

University of Newcastle University of Newcastle Link

Non-Library

University of Sunshine Coast Research Output Reporting